Master the Mind - Episode 2

The Three Faults

In His second discourse of the ‘Master the Mind’ series, Sadguru Sri Madhusudan Sai explains how to control the mind, purify it and withdraw it inwards using aṣṭāṅga yoga, India’s classical eight-limbed yoga system, enunciated by Sage patañjali. He describes the practices to be followed in each of the eight stages – yama, niyama, āsana, prāṇāyāma, pratyāhāra, dhāraṇā, dhyāna and samādhi, including how to eliminate the three faults of mala (impurities), vikṣepa (distortion) and āvaraṇa (veil). Drawing on absorbing anecdotes from the book tripurārahasya, He then elaborates on the final stage of samādhi (absorption in the Self) and its types − savikalpa samādhi, nirvikalpa samādhi and sahaja samādhi, and how to attain sustained brahmajñāna. Underlying all of these is the core aspect of sādhanā (persistent practice by the seeker), which Sadguru repeatedly emphasises.

Back to Master the Mind ResourcesBack to all downloads